Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to service navigation

Manage Your Lost Device with MyDevices

The Lost Device button lets you lock and wipe your mobile device remotely. However, your device must be enrolled in the MDM (Mobile Device Management) program to use this.

The first thing you should do  if you lose your device is to lock it. If someone else gets possession of your device, the passcode (iOS) or password (Android) prevents access to it.

If you think your device is permanently lost or stolen, contact the Stanford University Privacy Office.  You can also wipe your device to remove all data and return the device to factory settings.

  1. On the MyDevices home page, click the link in the Model column for the device that is lost.
  2. Click the Actions button and then click Lock Device.
    Lost Device dialog box with functions to lock and wipe your device
  3. If you want to return your device to factory settings, click Wipe Device Data.
  4. In the dialog box, type WIPE - this is case-sensitive so use all caps. Then click Wipe Device Data.
    type WIPE in all caps and then click Wipe Device Data
Last modified April 25, 2017