Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to service navigation

How to Authenticate with an SMS Text Message for Two-Step Authentication

This less secure option is not recommended and may be disabled for some users (with prior change communication) who access High Risk data or who opt in to have it disabled. Additionally, this option incurs a per-use telephony fee for the University. Duo Mobile Push for smartphones or tablets is the recommended authentication method.

If you select SMS as your authentication method, a text message with a seven-digit passcode is sent to your device. The SMS text message is sent from the short code 386732. Each passcode can be used only once.

Note: If you travel internationally and have SMS set as your two-step authentication method, the text messages you receive may incur substantial roaming charges.

The following devices support using SMS text messages to verify your identity:

How to use the SMS Text message passcode option

  1. You will always be prompted for your last-used authentication method. If Text message passcode was your last-used authentication method, a text will be sent to your device. 

    • If the Text message passcode was not your last-used authentication method, click Other options.

    • Select the Text message passcode option. A text message with a seven-digit passcode is sent to your device.

  2. Open the text message on your device to retrieve your passcode. The text message is sent from the short code 386732.

  3. Enter the passcode in the Passcode box on the Duo security screen and click Verify.

  4. Once you have authenticated, you might see a screen that asks if you want to trust the browser. You’ll have the option to select “Yes, trust browser.” This takes the place of the “Remember Me” screen. 

    • If you click Yes, trust browser the browser will automatically remember you, and you will not be prompted to authenticate for that application or service for the next 90 days.
    • If you select No, do not trust this browser, you will still authenticate and continue onto your desired site; however, you will be prompted to re-authenticate each time you log into an application on that browser. 
    • Remember, public or shared computers shouldn’t be saved as trusted browsers.
Last modified October 26, 2022