Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to service navigation

How to Use Duo Push for Two-Step Authentication

You will see a redesigned browser experience for two-step authentication starting Oct. 25. We're in the process of updating the web instructions.  Learn more.

If you authenticate with a smartphone or tablet, Duo  App - Push Notification is the recommended method because it is the easiest and quickest way to authenticate.  A push notification is sent to your device and all you have to do is tap Approve to authenticate. 

Note: Internet or cellular access is required to use this method.

The following devices support push notification to verify your identity:

How to use Duo Mobile push notifications

  1. You will always be prompted for your last-used authentication method. If Duo Push was your last-used authentication method, a login request will be sent to your device. 

    • If Duo Push was not your last-used authentication method, click Other options.

    • In the Other options menu, select the Duo Push option. 

  2. Open the Duo Mobile app on your device.  You may see a message saying that you have a request waiting, displayed at the top of your screen. Tap the message.

    Note: Once a push notification is sent you have 60 seconds to approve the request.

  3. Tap Approve to authenticate.

    If you get a request you were not expecting, tap Deny.

  4. Once you have authenticated, you might see a screen that asks if you want to trust the browser. You’ll have the option to select “Yes, trust browser.” This takes the place of the “Remember Me” screen. 

    • If you click Yes, trust browser the browser will automatically remember you, and you will not be prompted to authenticate for that application or service for the next 90 days.

    • If you select No, do not trust this browser, you will still authenticate and continue onto your desired site; however, you will be prompted to re-authenticate each time you log into an application on that browser. 

    • Remember, public or shared computers shouldn’t be saved as trusted browsers.​

Last modified October 26, 2022