Google Team Drives are shared spaces where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device. You can access files from your computer using any web browser or you can install the mobile application to access your files from your Android or iOS mobile device. While the files in Google Drive, also known as My Drive, are owned by the drive owner, files stored in a Team Drive belong to the team instead of an individual.
Team Drive is ideal for groups of colleagues who often collaborate on documents together, such as work groups or project teams. Anyone can create a Google Team Drive and share ownership of that Drive — as well as any documents stored there —making it easy for all team members to share in the responsibility of organizing and maintaining the files. Team members can be added or removed from the Team Drive at any time. When a team member is removed from the group, all of the files remain in the Team Drive so that the team can continue to share information and complete necessary work.
Workgroup Integration allows you to create a Google Group from current Workgroups. When creating a Team Drive, you can then assign Team Drive membership (with Full access permissions) to the Google Group created by the Workgroup Integration tool, ensuring that the Team Drive ownership is attached to a Workgroup and not an individual. Once the permissions are granted to your Google Group, access to the Team Drive is automatically adjusted when you add or remove members from your Workgroup, allowing you to manage access entirely from within Workgroup Manager.
See Google's Get started with Team Drives page for more information.
- Files remain after an employee leaves.
- All members of a Team Drive see the same content.
- When a user is added to a Google group, they are automatically added to all of the Team Drives that include that group.
- You can add external users to a Team Drive.
- Files are searchable.