Google Groups provide a way to share documents, sites, calendars, and send messages with groups of people. Use this tool to create a new Google Group using the existing Stanford Workgroup name and membership. Once the Google group is created and linked to your workgroup, you can only use Workgroup Manager to maintain membership for Stanford users. Non-Stanford users can be added within Google Apps, not Workgroup Manager.
- Workgroup integration cannot be used to create Google Groups from personal workgroups.
- You should not rename a Google Group through your Google group's management interface. A renamed group and its data is automatically deleted without notification when a synchronization job runs to update Google Groups.
- If you unlink a workgroup from a Google Group, the group and its data in Google will be deleted.