Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to service navigation

High Risk Countries

The list of high risk countries as of Feb. 23, 2018 is presented below.

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Belarus 
  • Burundi
  • Camaroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China, The People's Republic of
  • Colombia
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the
  • Crimea (Region of Ukraine)
  • Cuba*
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Eritrea
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Iran*
  • Iraq
  • Israel, the West Bank and Gaza
  • Kenya
  • Korea, Democratic People's Republic of*
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Myanmar 
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan, Republic of
  • Syria*
  • Thailand
  • Ukraine
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen
  • Zimbabwe 

The university compiles its list of high risk countries from a number of sources, including countries that are the subject of Travel Warnings by the U.S. Department of State, and those that are identified as high risk by other U.S. Government sources such as the Department of the Treasury Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC), the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), and the Office of the Director of National Intelligence (ODNI). The High Risk Country List also incorporates information from our academic and commercial advisors (e.g., Control Risks). The list is maintained by the Information Security Office, Global Business Services, and the Office of International Affairs and will be updated regularly.

* Any plans to travel on behalf of Stanford University to Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria or the Crimean region of the Ukraine must be reviewed and approved by the Export Control Officer. Proof of approval is required before being able to take advantage of the Device Loaner program. See the Policy Notes on Export Control / Trade Sanctions Compliance Requirements for more information.

Last modified June 30, 2021