Skip to content Skip to site navigation

Service Criticality Tools

University IT assigns each service offering with a criticality level designation that prescriptively applies a response process for varying degrees of service impact. Each criticality level considers the scope of users and their relative dependency on the named service. Higher expectations for availability will correlate directly with greater requirements for infrastructure resiliency and expansive support models. While services with fewer users and minimal dependency will require less robust infrastructure and lower support levels.

IT Resilience aggregated elements from the criticality assessment model, the Major Incident Process, and Risk/Impact and Priority correlations within Incident Management, to construct guidelines for each of the four service criticality levels. This resource can assist service owners in determining the criticality level that best aligns with the capabilities of their services.

In addition to these tools, UIT IT Service Management (ITSM) maintains a resource that defines service team roles. The Service Fundamentals section of the Service Management Toolkit is a helpful tool in setting expectations for responsibility with setting and supporting the various criticality levels.

Service Criticality Infographic

A quick overview of UIT Service Criticality Support Levels (click to expand).

Service Criticality Infographic - click to enlarge
  1. UIT Service Support Levels
  2. Every IT service requires one of four levels of support and availability during emergency situations
  3. 1 Critical. Mission critical services require continuous availability
  4. 2 Major. Business critical services require continuous availability for effective business operation
  5. 3 Moderate. Business operational services contribute to the efficient running of the business operations
  6. 4 Minor. Minor services are on the level of office productivity tools that are required in order for the business to operate
  7. 1. Mission Critical Services
  8. Support: 24x7
  9. Response time: 15 to 60 minutes
  10. Service Availability 99.99%
  11. Paging Services
  12. Phone Services
  13. SUNet Backbone
  14. Email
  15. Web Authentication and Authorization
  16. Zoom
  17. Oracle Financials
  18. PeopleSoft
  19. Service Now
  20. `
  21. 2. Business Critical Services
  22. Support 24 x 7
  23. Response Time: 1 to 4 Hours
  24. Service Availability: 99.5%
  25. Reporting Applications
  26. Jira
  27. FASA
  28. Workgroup Manager
  29. Slack Grid
  30. Cardinal Print
  31. 3. Business Operational Services
  32. Support: Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  33. Response Time: 1 Business Day
  34. Service Availability:99.5%
  35. Authority Manager
  36. Smartsheet
  37. Enterprise Data warehouse
  38. Qualtrics
  39. MySQL Form Builder
  40. 4. Minor Services
  41. Support: Monday to Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  42. Response Time: 2 to 4 Business Days
  43. Service Availability 80%
  44. MyDevices
  45. Bible Sheets
  46. Stanford Mobile

Service Criticality Profiles

For greater detail regarding support models, restoration point objectives, infrastructure requirements, please review the service criticality profiles below (click to expand). This resource is maintained by IT Resilience.

Service Criticality Profiles Screenshot - click to view Google Sheet

Major Incident Communications

Communications are an important aspect of service restoration during a Major Incident. The following infographic depicts the communications facilitated by ITOC during these events.

Major Incident Communications - click to view PDF

Last modified March 21, 2024