When their PeopleSoft HR status changes, the authority registry is notified, and their authority is automatically revoked. The affected business systems are notified in turn, and the person's access to those systems is closed. The person(s) who granted the now-revoked authority will be notified by email. (If the original grantor is no longer available, the notification will be sent to the Help Desk to determine whether any further action is required.)
When someone is laid off, their authority is not not always automatically revoked. We recommend that authority be manually revoked.