Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to service navigation

Sharing Documents stored in Google Shared drives

You can share individual files that are stored in a Shared drive. Use the following steps to share all types of Google files including Docs, Sheets, Slides, and Forms.

Always provide the least amount of access necessary while still allowing collaborators to work efficiently.

For files containing High Risk (non-PHI) Data, see our recommended sharing option.

How to share a file

  1. Right-click on the name of the Google file. Click Share.

  2. On the window that appears, enter the email address(es) of the person or people to whom you want to grant access. Avoid using mailing lists when possible.

    Depending upon the Shared drives Settings, you might get a window that is titled “Share” or a window that is titled “Upgrade member’s access”. Both windows provide the same features to share files.

  3. In the drop-down list, select the appropriate level of permissions for the users you will invite to collaborate: Edit, Comment, or View.

  4. You can choose to send a message when you have completed the sharing process.

    • To send an email to the person or people to whom you have granted access, click Send.
    • If you do not want to send an email to the person to whom you have granted access, select Skip sending notification. Then click Add.

Who has access

The Who has Access window is available from the “Share” or “Upgrade members access to” window. In this window, you can designate more permissions or restrictions for those you’ve invited to the document. This is a recommended step for sharing High Risk (non-PHI) Data.

  • Link sharing
    • Turn link sharing on and off
      • When sharing Moderate or High Risk (non-PHI) Data, we recommend turning link sharing to "off" so the person you are granting access to is not able to share the document with anyone else.
    • Set the access available to people with the link, such as edit, view or comment
    • Get a link to send to people you want to have access to the document
  • Member access - Members that are listed under the Shared drive icon are granted permissions through the Shared drives Share settings. You can upgrade an individual user’s access to a file.
  • Additional users’ access - People who have been given access to the file, but are not members of the Shared drives, are listed at the bottom of the Who has access window. You can change their access permissions or remove them from access.
  • Restrict user actions - You can restrict the download, print and copy actions on this file for commenters and viewers by clicking the More icon .

In the case of a Shared drive with less restrictive file-sharing settings, set file access permissions to allow collaborators to access the file, but still restrict the file as much as possible. When setting permissions using the Who has access window, consider the following:

  • Restrict download, print and copy actions
  • Limit collaboration options to just Comment
  • Limit editing options to just View
  • Limit how the file can be found externally
  • Choose whether or not external access is allowed
  • Ensure Shared drives permissions do not interfere with the intent of your file permissions

Restricted Shared drives Settings

Link sharing options on the Who has access window are will be limited for a Shared drive that has very restricted file-sharing settings. Depending upon the Shared drives settings, you might not be able to share the file outside of the organization or with people who are not designated as members of the Shared drives. Restrictions are noted in the Who has Access window.

To learn more about file-sharing settings for Shared drives and how to change them, visit Set Share Options for Shared drives.

Last modified September 15, 2019