Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to service navigation

ITIL 4 Foundation Certification Training & Exam (3-Day Class)

Class Sessions

Date Location Cost
  • Mon May 4, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
  • Tue May 5, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
  • Wed May 6, 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm
Live Online $950
  • Mon Jul 27, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
  • Tue Jul 28, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
  • Wed Jul 29, 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm
Birch Hall 107 (Birch Lab B) $950

Class Code


Class Description

Effective immediately in response to COVID-19, all Technology Training classes through the Spring Quarter will be held online.

In advance of each session, Tech Training will provide you with a Zoom link to your class, along with any required class materials.

The ITIL 4 Foundation course is designed to provide participants with a comprehensive understanding of the ITIL framework and its role in modern IT Service Management (ITSM).

**Students will take the ITIL 4 Foundation certification exam in class on the last day.**


The ITIL 4 Foundation qualification is intended to introduce candidates to the management of modern IT-enabled services, to provide them with an understanding of the common language and key concepts, and to show them how they can improve their work and the work of their organization with ITIL 4 guidance. Furthermore, the qualification will provide the candidate with an understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework and how it has evolved to adopt modern technologies and ways of working.


The ITIL 4 Foundation examination is intended to assess whether the candidate can demonstrate sufficient recall and understanding of the ITIL 4 service management framework, as described in the syllabus below, to be awarded the ITIL 4 Foundation qualification. The ITIL 4 Foundation qualification is a prerequisite for the ITIL 4 higher level qualifications, which assess the candidate's ability to apply their understanding of the relevant parts of the ITIL framework in context.



Below is a summary of the concepts that are tested in the exam, and the main parts of the manual in which these are described. The book references refer to the section stated, but not the subsections within that section, unless stated. The verb for each assessment criterion indicates the Bloom¿s level (BL): `Recall’/`Define’ indicates Level 1 basic recall and recognition, `Describe’/`Explain’, indicates Level 2 understanding/comprehension.


Learning outcomes for this training: 

1. Understand the key concepts of service management


1.1  Recall the definition of:

a) Service

b) Utility

c) Warranty

d) Customer

e) User

f) Service management

g) Sponsor


1.2  Describe the key concepts of creating value with services:

a) Cost

b) Value

c) Organization

d) Outcome

e) Output

f) Risk

g) Utility

h) Warranty


1.3  Describe the key concepts of service relationships:

a) Service offering

b) Service relationship management

c) Service provision

d) Service consumption



2. Understand how the ITIL guiding principles can help an organization adopt and adapt service management


2.1  Describe the nature, use, and interaction of the guiding principles


2.2  Explain the use of the guiding principles

a) Focus on value

b) Start where you are 

c) Progress iteratively with feedback 

d) Collaborate and promote visibility

e) Think and work holistically

f) Keep it simple and practical 

g) Optimize and automate 



3. Understand the four dimensions of service management


3.1  Describe the four dimensions of service management:

a) Organizations and people 

b) Information and technology 

c) Partners and suppliers 

d) Value streams and processes 



4. Understand the purpose and components of the ITIL service value system


4.1  Describe the ITIL service value system



5. Understand the activities of the service value chain, and how they interconnect


5.1  Describe the interconnected nature of the service value chain and how this supports value streams 


5.2  Describe the purpose of each value chain activity:

a) Plan

b) Improve

c) Engage

d) Design & transition

e) Obtain/build

f) Deliver & support



6. Know the purpose and key terms of 15 ITIL practices


6.1  Recall the purpose of the following ITIL practices:

a) Information security management

b) Relationship management

c) Supplier management

d) IT asset management

e) Monitoring and event management

f) Release management 

g) Service configuration management 

h) Deployment management 

i) Continual improvement 

j) Change control 

k) Incident management 

l) Problem management 

m) Service request management

n) Service desk 

o) Service level management 


6.2  Recall definitions of the following ITIL terms:

a) IT asset

b) Event

c) Configuration item

d) Change

e) Incident

f) Problem

g) Known error



7. Understand 7 ITIL practices


7.1  Explain the following ITIL practices in detail, excluding how they fit within the service value chain:

a) Continual improvement including:

             The continual improvement model

b) Change control

c) Incident management 

d) Problem management 

e) Service request management

f) Service desk

g) Service level management



Exam Overview

Material allowed -- None -- This is a `closed book’ exam. The ITIL Foundation publication, ITIL 4 edition, should be used for study, but is NOT permitted to be used in the exam.


Exam duration -- 60 minutes -- Candidates taking the exam in a language that is not their native or working language may be awarded 25% extra time, i.e. 75 minutes in total.


Number of marks -- 40 marks -- There are 40 questions, each worth 1 mark. There is no negative marking.


Provisional Pass mark -- 26 marks -- You will need to get 26 questions correct (65%) to pass the exam.


Level of thinking -- Bloom’s levels 1 & 2 -- 'Bloom's level' describes the type of thinking needed to answer the question. For Bloom’s level 1 questions, you need to recall information about the ITIL 4 service management framework. For Bloom’s 2 questions, you need to show an understanding of these concepts.


Question types -- Classic, Negative, Missing word, & List

The questions are all `multiple-choice’.

For the `standard’ questions, you have a question and four answer options.

`Negative’ questions are `standard’ question in which the stem is negatively worded.

For the `missing word’ questions, there is a sentence with a word missing and you have to select the missing word from four options.

For the `list’ questions, there is a list of four statements and you have to select two correct statements from the list.



University IT Technology Training classes are only available to Stanford University staff, faculty, or students. A valid SUNet ID is needed in order to enroll in a class.