Google Groups provides a way to share documents, sites, calendars, and send messages with groups of people.
If you are the administrator of a Stanford workgroup, you can use Workgroup Integration to create a new Google group using the existing Stanford Workgroup name and membership. Once the Google group is created and linked to your workgroup, you can only use Workgroup Manager to maintain membership for Stanford users. Non-Stanford users can be added within G Suite, not Workgroup Manager.
- You can create your own groups.
- Stanford workgroups can be linked to Google groups.
- Owners of groups can configure access permissions..
The process for integrating a Stanford workgroup with a Google group is:
- Create a workgroup using Workgroup Manager.
- Use Workgroup Integration to create a new Google group using the existing Stanford Workgroup name and membership.
Once your Google group is created do not rename it. If you do rename it, the Google group will be deleted via an automated process.
For information about getting started with Google groups, see Get started with Groups.