Skip to content Skip to site navigation

Setting Favorite Locations

To increase security and reduce risk, Stanford is sunsetting its AFS service for web hosting and file storage. While you can still access AFS using your valid Stanford SUNetID, there are more secure web hosting platforms and document management solutions to which you should transition.

To reduce the use of AFS, UIT has taken these actions:

  • UIT no longer automatically provisions new faculty and staff members with AFS user volumes. New faculty or staff who need a personal user volume must submit a Help request.
    • This change does not impact existing AFS directories or the process for adding permissions for new individuals to those existing directories. Your existing space and everything in it remains intact.
    • This change does not impact auto-provisioning of new AFS user volumes for students and postdocs.

    See New Process for Provisioning AFS User Volumes for more information.

  • All user, dept, and group AFS volumes must be renewed annually or they will be locked, archived, and permanently deleted as detailed in the AFS Volume Expiration Policy.

You can create a shortcut to an AFS location that you access frequently by making it a favorite location.

Add a Favorite Location

  1. Navigate to the folder that you want to add as a favorite location.

  2. In the ACTIONS list on the left, click Favorite Locations.

  3. In the My Favorite Locations box, click the Add tab, enter a name for this location, and click Add.

    Add a favorite location

  4. The location you added will now appear under the View tab.

    View added favorite location

  5. Click the [X] in the upper-right corner to close My Favorite Locations.

Rename a Favorite Location

  1. In the ACTIONS list, click Favorite Locations.

  2. Click the Rename tab, enter a new name for a favor tie location, and then click Rename.

    Rename a favorite location

  3. The location that you just renamed will now appear with its new name under the View tab.

Delete a Favorite Location

  1. In the ACTIONS list on the left, click Favorite Locations.

  2. Click the Delete tab, select one or more favorite locations you wish to delete, and then click Delete.

    Delete a favorite location

  3. The View tab will open and display a list of your favorite locations. The deleted locations will not appear in this list.

Go to a Favorite Location

  1. In ACTIONS list on the left, click Favorite Locations.

  2. When My Favorite Locations is displayed, click the name of location you wish to access.

    Go to favorite location

  3. The contents of the folder associated with the favorite location will be displayed.
Last modified December 9, 2015